Hockey India names 18-member Indian Women’s Team for Asian Champions Trophy

Hockey India on Wednesday announced the 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team for the Asian Champions Trophy to begin on 13 May, 2018 in Donghae City, Korea.The Indian team who go into the tournament as defending champions will be led by experienced defender Sunita Lakra in the absence of Rani who has been rested for the tournament while goalkeeper Savita will shoulder the responsibility of Vice Captain.India’s defence is full of experience with Deepika, Deep Grace Ekka

The team will be hoping to ride on the good show at the recently held XXI Commonwealth Games where they made the Semi Final after 12 years but eventually finished fourth. In 2016, the Indian team had defeated China in the Final to win the previous edition of Asian Champions Trophy. They followed up this victory with a successful outing at the 2017 Asia Cup where they beat China again in the Final.
This year, the team will begin their campaign against Japan on 13 May, 2018. “We were very disappointed after losing the Semi Final in CWG by a close margin to hosts Australia. We knew it was our best chance to make the medal round. Against England too, we didn’t perform the way we had planned but we carry a lot of confidence and heart from these matches against tougher teams like England and Australia. While fitness and speed has been a major focus point in all our camps, we are also working hard in terms of goal conversion and improving our attack. While the team is of mostly experienced players, we also have talented youngsters who are eager to contribute to the team’s success and help us defend the title,” stated the 27-year-old Sunita Lakra.



1. Savita (VC)

2. Swati


3. Deepika

4. Sunita Lakra (C)

5. Deep Grace Ekka

6. Gurjit Kaur

7. Suman Devi Thoudam


8. Monika

9. Namita Toppo

10. Nikki Pradhan

11. Neha Goyal

12. Lilima Minz

13. Navjot Kaur

14. Udita



15. Vandana Katariya

16. Lalremsiami

17. Navneet Kaur

18. Anupa Barla