Space Department gets new Secretary

K. Sivan, Rocket Scientist, currently Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, is going to become the next Secretary of the Department of Space and Chairman of the Space Commission and Indian Space Research Organisation, with a three year term. He will take over from Mr. A.S. Kiran Kumar as the ninth secretary of India Space establishment. Mr. Kiran Kumar’s term will end on 14 January. His name was approved by the Appointment Committee of the cabinet. He is an ME from Indian Institute of Science, and he is an Aeronautical Engineer from Madras Institute of Technology. He joined ISRO in 1982. He became the Director of USSC in June 2015.