Hockey India names 34 players for Women’s National Camp ahead of Korea Tour and Gold Coast Commonwealth Games

Hockey India on Wednesday named 34 players for the Indian Women’s National Camp to begin in Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru on February 16th. The players will report to Indian Women’s Team Chief Coach Harendra Singh, who emphasized on the need for speed and agility ahead of a busy calendar year for the women. “Since 2018 is extremely important with mega events in the pipeline it is necessary for the team to stay fit and injury-free but at the same time they also need to be fast and agile. Keeping this in mind we will have a series of classes and sessions to guide players and educate them on significance of fitness and achieving our target in major competitions,” expressed Harendra Singh ahead of the camp.
After ending the year 2017 on a high, winning the Women’s Asia Cup in Japan, the Indian team will begin their campaign this year with Korea Tour between 3 – 12 March where they will play five matches against the hosts at the Jinchun National Athletic Centre, Jinchun, Korea. Later this year, in May, the Indian team will return to Korea to defend their Asian Champions Trophy title. “The Korea Tour is important ahead of the Commonwealth Games as we want to implement a few combinations in Korea and get some good match practice before we leave for the CWG. With the 5th Women’s Asian Champions Trophy being held in Korea, it is good to get used to the playing conditions in that country and also matches against the home team ahead of a big competition is always good,” added the Chief Coach.
1.     Savita
2.     Rajani Etimarpu
3.     Swati
4.     Deep Grace Ekka
5.     P Sushila Chanu
6.     Sunita Lakra
7.     Gurjit Kaur
8.      Hnialum Lal Ruat Feli
9.     Navdeep Kaur
10.  Rashmita Minz
11.  Neelu Dadiya
12.  Namita Toppo
13.  Nikki Pradhan
14.  Deepika
15.  Karishma Yadav
16.  Renuka Yadav
17.  Navjot Kaur
18.  Monika
19.  Lilima Minz
20.  Neha Goyal
21.  Udita
22.  M Lily Chanu
23.  Nilanjali Rai
24. Suman Devi Thoudam
25.  Rani
26.  Vandana Katariya
27.  Preeti Dubey
28.  Reena Khokhar
29.  Anupa Barla
30.  Sonika
31.  Lalremsiami
32.  Poonam Rani
33.  Navneet Kaur
34.  Navpreet Kaur