Punjab National Bank win the 8th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2018 (B Division)

Punjab National Bank were crowned the winners of the 8th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2018 (B Division) here today after they defeated Canara Bank 2-0 in a close Final encounter. In the 3rd / 4th places match, Central Secretariat outclassed Bengaluru Hockey Association 10-1 to finish the tournament in an impressive manner.

Both Canara Bank and Punjab National Bank went into the Final in good form as they had defeated Central Secretariat and Bengaluru Hockey Association respectively in their Semi Final matches. The Final match saw both teams keeping it tight at the back which meant that it was tough for the forwards to find a goal in the first two quarters. The scores remained 0-0 at the half-time break, but it was Punjab National Bank who broke the deadlock in the 38th minute when Sukhjeet SIngh found the back of the net to give his team a much deserved 1-0 lead. Canara Bank tried to attack as they looked for an equalizer, but Punjab National Bank’s defense was up to the task. The latter’s resolute defending saw them keep out Canara Bank’s efforts in the final quarter. Punjab National Bank also kept attacking their opponents and were finally rewarded with a second goal in the 57th minute when Satender Dalal also found the back of the net to secure a 2-0 win for his team.
In the 3rd / 4th placed match, it was Central Secretariat who prevailed against Bengaluru Hockey Association with a score-line of 10-1 after the former displayed some inspiring hockey. Both teams looked equally balanced in the first quarter as chances were wasted by either team. However, in the second quarter, Central Secretariat were efficient in front of the goal as they scored thrice through Shankar Sidharth (22′), Shankar Patil (23′) and Thimmanna S Puliyanda (30′), who converted a Penalty Corner. In the third quarter, Thimmanna S Puliyanda converted two more Penalty Corners in the 31st and 39th minutes to give his team a 5-0 lead. The goals kept on coming for Central Secretariat as they scored five more goals to wrap up a 10-1 victory which saw Thimmanna S Puliyanda add another one to his tally in the 57th minute while Dharambir Yadav (44′, 54′, 58′) and Muthanna Boverianda (51′) also found their names on the score-sheet. Bengaluru Hockey Association’s only goal was scored by Rama Shankar in the 56th minute.